Often times I hear the words “My soul is as dark as my skin” flow out of my mouth.
It is often followed by ooh’s and aah’s from the mouth of my listeners.

Their reaction is based on the fact they assume a dark soul means a cold heartless soul.
They look at my skin, in all its chocolate and golden glory and assume it’s wrong for my soul to look that way.

They’re wrong.
My black is beautiful.

When I say my soul is as dark as my skin, I mean it is rich, beautiful, mesmerizing and glowing.
The world is prejudiced to the belief that black is ugly that they don’t see that is simply too beautiful for their eyes to comprehend.

Just like my skin, my soul doesn’t get burned
I require minimal SPF for my strong soul.

Just like my skin, my soul glows.
It radiates all the love I have inside and all the love I pour out.

Just like my skin, my soul is rich.
I have a philanthropic personality that infects all those around me.

Just like my skin, my dark, melanin-filled, rich, golden, glazed soul is beautiful.

 

Happy Black History Month.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email