When I have fears that I may fail

That I may not be good or great

That I may disappoint myself

That I may not be good enough

 

When I have fears that I may not be a good enough

That I may fail my baby even before she is born

That I may give her my bad genes

That I may set her to doom before greatness

 

When I have fears that I may die

That I may sleep and not wake up

That I may crash my car and everyone with me

That I may inhale and never exhale 

 

When I have fears that I may give up

That I may quit on people who need me

That I may walk away from that which truly scares me 

That I may never drive, be a mom or take a risk

 


In class today, I was urged to write about my fears. I genuinely struggle with fear. I always feel I can take on things that scare me. I decided to open my heart or as Abhay would say, “Put your heart it in it, Tolu”. I wrote about my three biggest fears.

Firstly, I wrote about my overbearing fear of failure. I remember the first time I failed a test. I did not know how to react. I didn’t know what to think. I had no idea what to do. I felt hollowed out by failure. As though failure had scooped my insides out and left me with the emptiness of being a failure. I felt inadequate, and that’s just one of the times my fear of failure crippled me. I seem to forget that making mistakes is inevitable and my beauty is in my imperfection.

Secondly, I wrote about my fear of having children. Actually, my fear of being a mother. I’m not scared of being pregnant, giving birth or even physically taking care of my children. I’m scared of being a mom. I’m scared of being someone’s everything. I’m scared of the huge responsibility of molding someone’s entire life. I’m scared of failing at that. I’m scared that I may make a mistake and set generations to come on a path of destruction.

Thirdly, I’m scared of driving. It may seem minuscule on the grand scheme of things. I think this fear began in my grade 9 health class. I was passionate about driving before then. I remember these videos we had to watch about drunk driving, reckless driving and distracted driving.The images of people flying out of windows, the videos of mothers crying at funerals, all those things make me want to sit in a passenger seat of someone’s car and never trade places.

Lastly, I’m scared of dying. This seems like a generic fear but I’m actually very scared of not being alive on earth anymore. I don’t know why, or how to tackle it, but I am scared. Very scared.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email