I met Rafeh in grade 10.
He was the shyest but nicest kid.
He sat next to me for three weeks
But impacted my life forever.

In class, the drill was to work on assigned questions, the call the teacher over
Rafeh would check over my work without me asking, usually pointing out a mistake or two in my work.
He received the measliest of thanks every time.

On a particular day, I felt nice enough to say “thank you very much”
He responded with “would you like me check the rest?”
I was taken back, he didn’t wait for a reply and proceeded.
He corrected the needful and received another heartfelt thank you.

Rafeh doesn’t remember this day.
But I do.
I always will.
Forever.

From that day, my world view changed.
My heart was opened afresh.
Like I was reborn

I came in every day, smiled at him and let him check my work.
I’d say thank you, meaningfully.
Ask about his day, receive a weak “fine, thank you”

Two weeks later we had a new seating plan.
I was sitting away from Rafeh.
I didn’t talk to him again.

But as fate would have it, Rafeh was in my grade 11 math class. And English class too.
I sat across the aisle from him in English, and in front of him in math.
He said hi first. Striking me.
“I was in your math class last year. Do you remember me?”

“Of course I do. You’re Rafeh”
He said “Yeah. Hi”

That was it for two days.
But the saying goes “If it’s meant to be, it would be”
Rafeh was meant to be.
I know it. And he knows it.

I decided I wasn’t going to let him go again.
Not without trying.

So I decided to keep saying hi.
Eventually he warmed up to me.
It felt like a fresh fire.
Like new life.

He ended up tutoring me.
He saved my grades.
He saved my heart.
He saved me.

He is one of the wisest men I know.
Yes. Man. He has earned that title.

Rafeh stepped in my life and left his imprint.
He warmed my heart in many ways than one.
A man with a heart purer than snow.
His smile more beautiful than the sun.

He deserved the world.
And that’s all I’ll give him.
Always.

He gave me a new world.
I’ve given him my heart.
He taught me to love people truly.
To love my own self before anything.

For Rafeh, I’d do almost anything.
Because he did the ultimate for me.

So Raffy Taffy, this is for you.

I love you.

Forever.

 

 


Rafeh is one of my best friends. He deserved his own post, so I gave it to him. Our friendship is different and I felt I needed to write about it. I wanted to tell a story about a non-romantic friendship that transcended all romance I’ve experienced. I decided to simply write our story, quite literally. I chose the photo of a wolf as my featured image because I always joke that he gives me wolf vibes. He is powerful, yet shy. And he is definitely a leader. I hope that with this piece, I have been able to tell a love story. An important story. My love story.

 

Apparently, I came off as stalker-ish. I obviously had permission from Rafeh before I began writing. He read this before and after it was published, and has no issue with it.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email